Hello world!

June 8, 2007

Bronze & Glass Pomegranate

Welcome to the Mineralarts blog, where I’ll post occasional flashes of creative inspiration, updates on various projects, and nature notes from the desert.

Here’s a small painting that I finished yesterday – a bronze and glass pomegranate done in iron oxides, green clays, and malachite in egg tempera.  More pomegranates to come!  They are inspired by the tree in my yard, which is now full of half-grown green fruit.

I spent most of the day at the microscope drawing ferns for my newest Big Project.  Frustrated by the lack of books or online information on the subject, I decided to find, photograph, and draw all 35 species of southern Arizona xerophytic ferns.  Eventually I’ll work them into a website and a book.  Anyway it is a perfect excuse to explore some hidden mountain and desert canyons, though most of the work will have to wait until the monsoons, since at this time of year – when the temperature is over 100, the cicadas sing, and the sky turns white with the noon heat – the ferns all curl up and turn brown, and are practically invisible until the summer rains.  For now, I will use the calm focus of the Last Quarter moon to make the first detailed ink/scratchboard illustrations.

3 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Karin said

    Hi Lorena!

    It feels great to hear you speak about your recent activities, especially when you link them to the current season and Moon phase.

    Congratulations on your blog! I will be a frequent visitor.

  2. judithornot said

    Your site looks good already, Lorena! It took me forever to figure out how to do photos. (smile) I very much admire your painting. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and activities with us.

  3. sravana said

    Lorena,
    I’m so happy that you have a blog! (I recently bought your Tarot – Julie in TX) I look forward to seeing your new work – that pomegranate is wonderful…

Comments are closed.