The Ace of Disks for 28 Days

July 22, 2007

copper cinerary urn

This pomegranate is a shattered copper vessel.  The little green balls (one is hollow) are the glassy phosphate spheres that form in the ashes of funeral pyres (in the Tibetan Book of the Dead they are called “jewel-like relics”).

Eventually, 28 pomegranates will form the series of daily cards for my moon oracle.  That way, every day will hold the promise of the the Ace of Disks.  Each day holds the the infinite creativity of the earth and the faithful yet ever-changing mysteries of the Moon.  This oracle will have sticks, stones, bones, turtle shells…and pomegranates.  Like the ancient shaman’s pebble oracle, it will be flexible, having a usable structure but not a rigid system.  For example, does the image above represent today’s First Quarter Moon?  If not, which day does it fit?  What if it wasn’t assigned a particular day – perhaps it depends on the time of year – and what if you pulled it at random as your daily card?  (Enjoy this game but don’t think too much about it right now.  Until all 28 images are done, you won’t really know how they “work” – and I won’t, either!)

4 Responses to “The Ace of Disks for 28 Days”

  1. sravana said

    I, for one, can hardly wait for it! I’m also enjoying your blog, even if I don’t comment often.

  2. judithornot said

    I love your pomegranates. 🙂 And now I’m looking forward to your moon oracle.

  3. Beth said

    Lorena, thank you for a jewel among blogs. By that I mean not just this entry, but the whole thing. I’ve sent the URL on to a number of people, artists and writers, who I know will love it as much as I do. Thank you! And the moon oracle! Can hardly wait!

  4. The pomegranate paintings are so lovely and the whole blog is well compiled and inspiring. It seems odd that the other side of the world (I’m in Portugal), your pomegranates are riping too. My tree is very young and sports only 5 fruits that will soon be ready. Looking forward to your moon oracle!

Comments are closed.