Groundwater Amulet

May 15, 2008

MORE copper…I bought this picture jasper cabochon because it immediately reminded me of a lens of groundwater under the sand – lots of warm brown iron oxide with just a hint of blue (from reduced iron).  I liked the way it was drilled as a bead so it would retain its soft, natural look – a silver bezel setting would have overwhelmed this subtle stone.  It’s strung on New Mexico turquoise beads.  I had to grind off the pointed ends and polish them so the beads would fit together better.  Lots of green in the turquoise, which is less popular than the usual bright pale blue, but there is a nice mix of colors, both in the turquoise itself and in the iron oxide matrix.  The strand fastens to the iron link with copper wire hooks, and a copper wire ornament enlivens the back.  The five-fold spiral reminds me of the flower of sacred datura.

Groundwater Amulet

Comments are closed.