Labrys Amulet

August 31, 2008

LABRYS AMULET:  Blade is 2 1/4″ wide, total length of pendant is 3 3/4″.  High-carbon steel blade, forged, ground, drilled, polished, and decorated.  Black steel wire handle and wrap.  Antique African iron bead.

Odd to think that I’ve been blacksmithing for 14 years, off and on, and never made one of these, despite featuring them on two cards of the Ironwing Tarot (Ten of Blades and Trump VI – CONNECTION).  But my first forged iron pieces were wands, necklaces, bells, and other ornamental things.  It was only a few years ago that I began to feel comfortable designing and forging primitive ritual knives.  I’ve met several “master bladesmiths” and although their work is interesting and impressive, I have no desire to enter that world, which has its own rules and is even more male-dominated than ordinary blacksmithing.  Women bladesmiths are extremely rare, and I am still exploring what it means to be one.  I don’t make many knives but the work – and the result – is always intense.

The double curved blade is one of those simple universal symbols that appeals to everyone, regardless of time or culture.  It stirs the imagination, recalling the crescent moon, a flying bird, a moth, a bone, or a human figure standing with outstretched arms.  As the traditional weapon of Shango, it is a symbol of masculine energy.  As the labrys, it is a symbol of feminine power.

This one is the real thing, a substantial tool with sharp cutting edges.  The problem with any double-bitted ax is that it’s hard to attack something without cutting yourself at the same time…perhaps that is another of the symbol’s messages.

2 Responses to “Labrys Amulet”

  1. nanette said

    Don’t get here often, but my timing seems great!
    That is an awesome piece, and you are entering ever more interesting energies. Many congratulations. 🙂
    Nanette

  2. Andrea said

    My mother gave me a Labrys amulet for Christmas and as I was doing some research via the web on the meaning and finding various pieces of jewelry – I found your site. I love your design and encourage you to do more to enbrace your blade and blacksmithing skills as a woman. Congratulations and keep up the great work!

Comments are closed.