Pod Knife with Silver Cone

December 4, 2008

My newest fish pod knife is all steel, with a single hot-forged silver cone and an antique African iron bead on the black steel wire chain.  Total length (including the chain and cone) is 8 inches.  The knife itself has 1.5 inches of usable blade.  One side of the blade is decorated with tiny dots or pits, carved with a round metal bur.  The other side is plain, with the slightly rough as-forged texture.  It didn’t occur to me until I put the knife together that in order to see the decorated side when the knife is in use, it would have to be held in the left hand.  I’m right-handed so I’m not sure why I ended up making it this way, but there it is.

Pod Knife with Silver Cone

Pod Knife with Silver Cone

2 Responses to “Pod Knife with Silver Cone”

  1. Fabeku said

    Absolutely beautiful. I Love the balance between the Iron and the Silver, and the deep grace of the blade.

  2. Cat said

    Wow. This is one of the most beautiful and unusual knives I’ve ever seen. My hands itch to touch it, and my eyes drool.

Comments are closed.