Black Cat Mask

December 9, 2009

Feral Black Cat Mask is quilted, embroidered, and embellished with black steel wire ornaments.  Buttonhole stitch binds the eyeholes and outside edges.  Made from black cotton fabric (front and back), cotton batting, quilting thread, and #8 pearl cotton embroidery thread.   Entirely handstitched except for the ties, which are machine stitched.  8.5″ x 6″, excluding ornaments and ties.  Very comfortable to wear, and easily rolls up to fit in a small jewelry-sized bag.  There is a larger image on my Flickr site.

Feral Cat Mask

One Response to “Black Cat Mask”

  1. Excellent work, I love hand work too although I can’t hand quilt any more. I love the sculptural quality of the quilting mixed with the wire ornaments. They really look sharp against the black fabric. Maybe you could use this on a title card or Joker in the Black Cat Oracle?

    I have started making fabric postcards to use as a personal oracle, so I’ve been looking at embellishment in new ways, combined with my stories and poetry.

Comments are closed.