Picture Jasper Pendants

July 3, 2010

I just finished two Oregon picture jasper amulet pendants.  Both are completely reversible and feature double-sided hand-polished discs (a soft polish, since this particular slab didn’t take a mirror shine).  It’s rare to find picture jasper with attractive “scenes” in the same places on both sides of the slab, so cabochons are usually cut with a landscape design on the front and a nondescript pattern on the back.  This slab had TWO unusual designs that were equally interesting on both sides, so I cut two discs, each with a channel around the edge for a black steel wire bezel.  The discs are hung from handmade sterling silver “swivel” beads; each has been bur-textured but this is more obvious on the larger bead.  The copper beads are made from recycled tubing.  SACRED MOUNTAIN is three inches long, and the disc is 1 3/8 inches in diameter.  ROCK SHELTER is 2 1/2 inches long, with a 1 1/4 inch disc.  Both are available on my website.

Sacred Mountain Amulet Pendant

 A high, remote peak, now weathered and ice-worn, with a cooling volcanic and plutonic heart.  A pilgrimage site for a long climb, or simply a strong, inspiring presence on the near horizon.

Rock Shelter Amulet Pendant

A niche in water-carved sandstone, holding buried memories of glaciers, with a view of the wide sky over the High Plains.

This picture jasper Big Cat Claw is a work in progress.  The carving and its silver setting are finished, and it looks great on a leather cord.  But I want something fancier for this flashy piece.   I’m forging an iron hook, and may use two hammered pieces of heavy copper wire instead of a cord.  The bezel-set part of the carving is relief-carved on the front and flat on the reverse side, with a silver backing.  The tip of the claw is carved in the round.

Picture Jasper Big Cat Claw

One Response to “Picture Jasper Pendants”

  1. weaselgal said

    These are stunning pieces! I’m especially taken by the cat claw one. (what can I say, I’m a cat fanatic) The wire work framing the stones is just lovely. I do jewelry too, but I’ve never been able to get the hang of it. I have a strong feeling I’ll be paying another visit to your blog.

Comments are closed.