Black Steel Wire Spiral Jewelry

July 24, 2010

We are remodeling my blacksmithing work area to add perforated steel screens and a security door, and it won’t be finished for another week or so.  The rest of my shop is usable, so I’ve been making black steel wire jewelry to help rebuild the strength in my hands, since I still have some lingering neuropathy after January’s mystery virus.  I put a few inexpensive pieces on the website today.  Below is a set that I plan to keep and wear.  They are “torc style” but with odd terminals:  Rahu and Ketu, named for the “head and tail” of the celestial Dragon, the North and South Nodes in astrology.  Since the New World “dragon” is a feathered serpent, I’ve added a token fringed dangling ornament to each piece.  The BRACELET is four strands of 14-gauge wire, wrapped with a fifth strand.  The RING is two strands of 15-gauge wire wrapped with a third strand.  I also made a seven-strand torc with the same motif, but it’s not polished yet and isn’t as nicely proportioned as the bracelet, so I’m not sure what I’ll do with it, if anything.

Black Steel Wire Bracelet and Ring Set

2 Responses to “Black Steel Wire Spiral Jewelry”

  1. ecssanchez said

    Inspirational work, Lorena!
    Just came across it this morning while Googling – I did a wirework jewellery course last term, here in London, and have been hooked ever since!

    • ironwing said

      Thank you! Wirework was my introduction to metalworking (all self-taught) in 1992. At that time, silver and gold were less expensive, so wire was considered a craft for homeless hippies. (I wasn’t homeless, but was renting an apartment in Tucson that would have been condemned in any state that had building codes, LOL.) Now, with precious metals being too expensive for many people, wirework has acquired a new level of respectability (and, of course, marketing). It’s been interesting to watch, especially since I’ve mostly moved away from wire and much prefer forged iron.

Comments are closed.