Happy New Year!

January 4, 2012

New Year Black Kitten

New Year Black Kitten

This Happy New Year Kitten is another ink drawing for the new cat fabric that I’m working on.  The final B&W version will probably look like this:

Kitten in Hands

Kitten in Hands

4 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Mo Crow said

    very special & perhaps the herald of a small black kitten arriving in your home ? !

  2. Debbie said

    So beautiful down to the tiny, tiny claw tips peeking out. The effect of changing the perspective from presenting then kitten out to the world to that of holding toward oneself for inner reflection and observation is very interesting. Was the change for practical reasons of printing on the cloth, or another?

  3. ironwing said

    A few years ago I made sketches depicting various aspects of cat rescue, inspired by some of the stories that I learned while working at the shelter. The “kitten in hands” is the simplest, and the only one that I’ve turned into a finished drawing. The original version is the smaller of the two pictures above, showing a newborn black kitten as someone would see it as they held it in their hands. The hands form a little shrine or nicho for the kitten. It is meant to convey a sense of protection, hope, and responsibility.
    I made the hand and kitten drawings separately. I was putting them together on the computer when I realized that I could flip the hands and have a nice variation on the New Year baby picture. Here, the kitten seems to be deliberately displaying its paws, showing that it will soon be ready to travel on his own. (Kittens this small have very prominent claws – they don’t acquire the ability to retract them until they’re several weeks old – so I had to include claws in the drawing.) I think it is very appropriate for the New Year but the “presentation” or “showing off” aspect of it doesn’t set well with me otherwise, since Nature usually ensures that newborn felines are hidden for their own protection.
    And no, I’m not getting a kitten (that I know of). Ten cats is enough! Especially when one of them is Beluga, who is more than a cat.

  4. mooninfog said

    I think the bottom kitten in hands image works better because the somewhat strange shape of the base of the palms is less prominent when they are at the bottom of the image–the overall shape is more pleasing. What a lovely drawing. Happy new year, Lorena. — Debra

Comments are closed.